Web-Surfers Looking For Police Now Get Anti-Harper Site

Posted on Wednesday, December 14 at 12:28 by mikeymike555
The web addresses include www.vancouver.police.ca , www.windsorpolice.ca or www.winnipegpolice.ca [Editor's note, at time of press, only the two latter addresses worked. vancouver.police.ca came up as 'not found'. DrC] The domain names are similar, but not identical, to the real web addresses used by police in those cities. Burnaby businessman and self-described NDP supporter David Bedford owns the sound-alike web addresses and it was his idea to reroute the traffic to the NDP website. [Editor's other note: The addresses also resolve to a Halifax address (domainbaron.com) registered to Mr. Bedford, not Burnaby. DrC] http://www.cbc.ca/bc/story/bc_harper-website20051212.html [Proofreader's note: this article was edited for spelling and typos on December 14, 2005]

Note: www.vancouver.police.ca www.windsorpolice.ca www.winnipegpolice.ca http://www.cbc.ca/bc/st...

Contributed By



Article Rating

 (0 votes) 

Options




Comments

  1. by eugene
    Wed Dec 14, 2005 10:01 pm
    Having clicked on the links above this self promoting individual who has no party affiliation contrary to the Blogging Tory's now reccomends voting for either the Green Party or the NDP if folks can't stomach voting Liberal. Anyone but Harper. This is a case of a lone nutbar with a webpage that can cause a minor distraction on a slow day in MSM or a molehill that becomes a mountain in the blogosphere.

  2. Thu Dec 15, 2005 4:10 am
    There is nothing worse than a rabid agenda-driven
    wacko who devises a public strategy of manipulation,
    smears and conspiracy against any party or
    individual.

    People should be passionate and intense in political
    debate, dealing with the issues, policies and
    general principles in a transparent, straight-forward
    and respectable manner.

  3. by avatar Jesse
    Fri Dec 16, 2005 6:24 pm
    Those domains are registered to Domainbaron.com, the admin being one David Bedford from Burnaby, BC. While he can certainly register those domains (they're not being hijacked, they just look similar to the real ones), doing so is cheap and misleading. <br />
    <br />
    Funnily enough, he's tried this sort of thing before, and lost.<br />
    <a href="http://www.justice.gc.ca/en/dept/pub/jc/vol1/no4/">http://www.justice.gc.ca/en/dept/pub/jc/vol1/no4/</a><br />
    <br />
    "The WIPO panel concluded that Bedford «set about to embarrass the Complainant (the Government) into paying his asking price for the disputed domain names by placing on the [Domain Baron site] objectionable content that was likely to prompt complaints to the Complainant from outraged members of the public.»"<br />
    <br />
    He is nothing but a cyber-squatting scumbag, looking to embarass people into paying him for those domains. <p>---<br>Your mantra has been your opinions are stifled due to their contrary nature, when they are actually stifled for being without perceivable foundation.



view comments in forum


You need to be a member and be logged into the site, to comment on stories.




Your Voice

To post to the site, just sign up for a free membership/user account and then hit submit. Posts in English or French are welcome. You can email any other suggestions or comments on site content to the site editor. (Please note that Vive le Canada does not necessarily endorse the opinions or comments posted on the site.)

canadian bloggers | canadian news