Vive Le Canada

Harpers Cabinet includes a Liberal and a Senator.
Date: Monday, February 06 2006
Topic: Canadian Politics

*What?* you're asking.

There were two surprises as the Harper cabinet was unveiled Monday: former Liberal industry minister David Emerson has jumped ship to become the Conservative Minister of International Trade, and Michael Fortier, an unelected party operative, is the new minister of Public Works and Government Services.

Even more surprising, Prime Minister Stephen Harper will appoint Fortier to the Senate.

Harper said Fortier will run for a House of Commons seat in "the next federal election" rather than seeking one before that in a by-election.

It is an odd decision for Harper, who campaigned on a promise of an elected Senate and spoke against the idea of unelected ministers.

The whole Cabinet:

Marjory LeBreton - Leader of the Government in the Senate
Rona Ambrose - Minister of Environment
John Baird - President of the Treasury Board
Maxime Bernier - Minister of Industry
Jean-Pierre Blackburn - Minister of Labour and Minister of the Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec
Lawrence Cannon - Minister of Transport
Michael Chong - President of the Queen's Privy Council and Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs and Minister for Sport
Tony Clement - Health
Stockwell Day - Minister of Public Safety
David Emerson - Minister of International Trade
Diane Finley - Minister of Human Resources and Social Development
Jim Flaherty - Minister of Finance
Michael Fortier - Minister of Public Works and Government Services
Loyola Hearn - Minister of Fisheries and Oceans
Gary Lunn - Minister of Natural Resources
Peter MacKay - Minister of Foreign Affairs
Rob Nicholson - House Leader
Gordon O'Connor - Minister of Defence
Bev Oda - Minister of Canadian Heritage and Status of Women
Jim Prentice - Minister of Indian Affairs
Carol Skelton - Minister of National Revenue and Minister of Western Economic Diversification
Monte Solberg - Minister of Citizenship and Immigration
Chuck Strahl - Minister of Agriculture
Greg Thompson - Minister of Veterans Affairs
Vic Toews - Minister of Justice
Josée Verner - Minister of International Co-operation and Minister for La Francophonie and Official Languages

This article comes from Vive Le Canada

The URL for this story is: